Category Archives: Teen Tuesday

Teen Tuesday: When You Look Like Us by Pamela N. Harris

Teenage or adult readers who like Young Adult mysteries might enjoy this week’s spotlight:

Title: When You Look Like Us by Pamela N. Harris
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Mystery
Length: 368 pages

Summary:

A 2022 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work nominee and a 2022 Edgar Award nominee, this timely, gripping teen novel is about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where Black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked, from debut author Pamela Harris. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.

When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—everyone else thinks you’re trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing Black girl from public housing because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfriend—a drug dealer—and his friends. But she’s been gone too long. Nic, where are you?

If I hadn’t hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma.

If I was a better brother, she’d be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list.

It’s time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department won’t.

Bring her home.

Also a 2022 ALA Notable Book for a Global Society Award winner!

Goodreads

Purchase Link: Amazon * B&N

Leave a Comment

Filed under Teen Tuesday

Teen Tuesday: Dear Martin by Nic Stone

Teenage or adult readers who like Young Adult novels might enjoy this week’s spotlight:

Title: Dear Martin by Nic Stone
Dear Martin Series Book One
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult,
Length:224 pages

Summary:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • WILLIAM C. MORRIS AWARD FINALIST • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME

After a traffic stop turns violent at the hands of the police, a young Black teen grapples with racism—and what it means for his future. Critically acclaimed author Nic Stone boldly tackles America’s troubled history with race relations in her gripping debut novel.

Justyce is a good kid, an honor student, and always there to help a friend—but none of that matters to the police officer who just put him in handcuffs without cause.

When faced with injustice, Justyce looks to the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. for answers. But do they hold up anymore? He starts a journal to Dr. King to find out.

Then comes the day Justyce and a friend spark the fury of an off-duty cop. Words fly, shots are fired, and the boys get caught in the crosshairs. But in the media fallout, it’s Justyce who is under attack.

Goodreads

Purchase Link: Amazon * B&N

Leave a Comment

Filed under Teen Tuesday

Teen Tuesday: Artistotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Teenage or adult readers who like Young Adult novels might enjoy this week’s spotlight (I LOVED it!):

Title: Artistotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Aristotle and Dante Book One
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, LGBTQ+
Length: 376 pages

Summary:

Time Best YA Book of All Time (2021)

A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz.

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will

Goodreads

Purchase Link: Amazon * B&N

2 Comments

Filed under Teen Tuesday

Teen Tuesday: How We Ricochet by Faith Gardner

Teenage or adult readers who like Young Adult novels might enjoy this week’s spotlight:

Title: How We Ricochet by Faith Gardner
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Length: 331 pages

Summary:

For readers of This Is How It Ends and All the Bright Places, How We Ricochet takes an intimate and unflinching look into the devastating consequences of a mass shooting for one girl and her close-knit family, from Faith Gardner, acclaimed author of Girl on the Line.

It seems sometimes a charade that we continue celebrating in the face of relentless tragedy.

How dare we? But then . . . what else is there to do?

Betty’s mom needed new pants for her job.

That was why Betty was at the mall with her mom and sister when the shooting started.

Afterward, nothing is the same.

There are no easy answers to be found, and Betty’s search for them leads her to Michael, the brother of the shooter. But this path only shows Betty one thing: that everything she thought she knew—about herself, about the world around her—can change in a heartbeat.

A moving, powerful journey of life after tragedy, How We Ricochet is a fearless and necessary story for our time that will resonate with readers everywhere.

Goodreads

Purchase Link: Amazon * B&N

Comments Off on Teen Tuesday: How We Ricochet by Faith Gardner

Filed under Teen Tuesday

Teen Tuesday: Practice Girl by Estelle Laure

Teenage or adult readers who like Young Adult novels might enjoy this week’s spotlight:

Title: Practice Girl by Estelle Laure
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Length: 320 pages

Summary:

An emotional and empowering novel about reputation and double standards, perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Sarah Dessen.

Jo Beckett is looking for love. She’s fallen for a few boys, but for some reason, they’ve never fallen for her. One night, at a party she didn’t even want to go to, she finds out the truth. Those boys, who are on the wrestling team she manages, consider her just a “practice girl”—the popular term for girl who’s good enough to hook up with but not to date.

With this crushing revelation, Jo feels so many things–heartsick, ashamed, betrayed, and angry. But she refuses to let that label define her. In piecing her life back together, Jo is forced to unpack more uncomfortable truths about all her relationships–from her best friend to the boy she likes–that help her understand her real worth.

From the author of the acclaimed This Raging Light, Practice Girl is a heart-wrenching, relatable, and ultimately triumphant story about a girl who rejects her label and decides for herself who she is to the world.

    Goodreads

    Purchase Link: Amazon * B&N

    Comments Off on Teen Tuesday: Practice Girl by Estelle Laure

    Filed under Teen Tuesday

    Teen Tuesday: Some Mistakes Were Made by Kristin Dwyer

    Teenage or adult readers who like Young Adult novels might enjoy this week’s spotlight:

    Title: Some Mistakes Were Made by Kristin Dwyer
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance
    Length: 384 pages

    Summary:

    Ellis and Easton have been inseparable since childhood. But when a rash decision throws Ellis’s life—and her relationship with Easton—into chaos, she’s forced to move halfway across the country, far from everything she’s ever known.

    Now Ellis hasn’t spoken to Easton in a year, and maybe it’s better that way; maybe eventually the Easton-shaped hole in her heart will heal.

    But when Easton’s mom invites her home for a visit, Ellis finds herself tangled up in the web of heartache, betrayal, and anger she left behind . . . and with the boy she never stopped loving.

    Goodreads

    Purchase Link: Amazon * B&N

    Comments Off on Teen Tuesday: Some Mistakes Were Made by Kristin Dwyer

    Filed under Teen Tuesday